BREAKING: Senate Confirms Buratai, Olonisakin, Others As Ambassadors

Ex-service chiefs confirmed as ambassadors

Ex-service chiefs confirmed as ambassadors

Four former service chiefs nominated as ambassadors have been confirmed by the Senate on Tuesday.

They are: former Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai; former Chief of Defence Staff, Gabriel Olonisakin; former Chief of Air Staff, Ibok Ibas; and former Chief of Naval Staff, Abubakar Sadique.

They will serve as non-career ambassadors.

President Buhari had on the 5 of February, sent their names to the senate to be confirmed as non-career ambassadors.

Nigerians had condemned their nomination, noting that it was a plan to shield them from prosecution by the International Criminal Court (ICC) for alleged abuses committed by the Nigerian military under their watch.

More details later…